

Top score — #1 Operator
Col. Roland Butler of the Maryland State Police (left) and F/Sgt. Brian Schweers, Assistant Commander of the Maryland State Police Special Operations Division

Nampa Police Department — #1 Team Represented by (I-r) Sgt. John Parsons and Sgt. Scott McCain



PFQ ZUZ CHALLENGE

PFQ May Challenge — 2023

In May 2023 the NTOA conducted its third PFQ Challenge. All operators who successfully maxed the test with 50 points are listed on page 57. The top 10 scorers received a one-year membership to the NTOA and a formal certificate of achievement for their accomplishment. It is with great pleasure that the NTOA Physical Fitness section acknowledges and celebrates the best of the best within our nation's ranks of ERT and SWAT operations for their remarkable achievements on the NTOA PFQ. Their levels of strength, endurance, speed and fortitude set them apart and position them at the tip of the spear. These people run toward the sound of danger and thrive when they engage the source of danger a little bit faster and better than everyone else.

Special recognition is in order for Brian Schweers of the Maryland State Police on the overall highest PFQ score of 174 points (Fittest Operator Award) and to the Nampa (ID) Police Department on its Fittest SWAT Team Award. The gold standard of 50+ points on the PFQ was achieved by 106 operators, and 13 operators achieved over 100 points.

In addition to the objective data collection that the PFQ testing provided, there also were incredible testimonies

of increased unit cohesiveness, trust, esprit de corps and operational readiness.

Over the next several months, the NTOA Physical Fitness section will meet to further review the objective data in addition to the recommendations of areas where the test and testing administration can be improved.

THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSOR!



CONTINUE TO TRAIN AS IF YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT — BECAUSE IT DOES!

PFQ TOP SCORES 2023

Libby Abel, Marshfield Police Department Matthew Agugliaro, Town of Tonawanda Police Department

Phil Breitchaft, Kenosha Police Department *Luke Bryant, Augusta County Sheriff's Office

Alex Burgoyne, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

Aaron Busche, Greenfield Police Department Jeremiah Callicutt, Asheboro Police Department Chuck Castleberry, Brentwood Police Department

Paul Chabot, Joint Tactical Support Team (Estevan Police Service)

*Christopher Clark, Prattville Police Department Tim Coats, Archdale Police Department Ryan Cobett, St. Joseph County Police Metro

Tyler Cook, Alachua County Sheriff's Office **Joshua Cooper**, Staunton Police Department Cronk Cory, St. Joseph County Police Metro SWAT **Dustin Davis**, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

*Sebastion Dessert, South Jordan Police Aaron Dillhoff, Kenosha Police Department Nicholas Dorau, Kenosha Police Department Evan Drescher, El Cajon Police Department Ben Dukes, Cookeville Police Department Kyle Evanetski, Town of Tonawanda Police Department

Thaddeus Fanning, Lane County Sheriff Office Tony Ferro, Gainesville Police Department Zach Fischer, St. Charles Police Department Terry Fletcher, City of Waukesha Police Department

Wyatt Flickinger, Bettendorf Police Department Edwin Ford, Illinois Secretary of State Trey Frasch, Brentwood Police Department Chris Gardner, Lane County Sheriff's Office Dominick Gonzalez, Town of Woodbury Police Jeffery Grzegorek, St. Joseph County Police

Jason Hamilton, Brattleboro Police Department Evan Handley, Joint Tactical Support Team (Estevan Police Service)

Lex Harrold, Lane County Sheriffs Office Zach Hartman, Brentwood Police Department Jared Henderson, Kenosha Police Department *Laurent Hentges, Gardena Police Department

*Matthew Hernandez, Glendale Police Department

Austin Heschrtz, Rio Rancho Police Department Jared Hicks, Cedar Rapids Police Department

*Mike Hurd, Nampa Police Department Tactical Response Team

Jim Hurley, Atlantic City Police Department Cody Huss, Nampa Police Department Tactical Response Team

Shane Joyner, Lyon County Sheriffs Office Joseph Kaznia, St. Joseph County Police Metro SWAT

Douglas Kelley, Charleston Police Department Casey Kenealy, City of Waukesha Police Department

Jason Kenesie, Kenosha Police Department Matthew Kennell, Staunton Police Department Doug Kern, Nampa Police Department Tactical Response Team

Josh Kesinger, Illinois Secretary of State Police Tyrel Klein, Bloomington Police Department Jonah Kowalkowski, Greenfield Police Department James Krein, Kenosha Police Department Timothy Kuhl, Colorado Springs Police Department Hayden Lancaster, Charleston Police Department Chris Lawson-Rulli, St. Joseph County Meto

Robert Leda, St. Joseph County Police Metro **SWAT**

Sam Legg, Illinois Secretary of State Police Scott McCain, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

Matt McInerny, St. Charles County Police Department

Mike McKivigan, Alachua County Sheriff's Office Keegan Mcquillan, Lane County Sheriff's Office Karl Meister, City of La Vista Police Department **Brian Miller**, Kenosha Police Department Jaycob Miller, Prosper Police Department Barrett Morris, Prosper Police Department



Sean Nelson, Brentwood Police Department Mike Parker, Petoskey Department of **Public Safety**

*Evan Phillips, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

Max Pollock, St. Joseph County Police

Ryan Putnam, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

Joseph Querciagrossa, St. Joseph County Police Metro SWAT

Randy Rodriguez, St. Joseph County Meto SWAT Joel Rogers, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

Jonathan Schabruch, Alachua County Sheriff's Office

*Mack Scheppler, Marshfield Police Department Darren Schlegel, Charleston Police Department Joshua Schouman, Nampa Police Department **Tactical Response Team**

Troy Schwanke, Lane County Sheriff's Office *Brian Schweers, Maryland State Police Matt Shrives, Lane County Sheriff's Office *Zachary Smigiel, Kentwood Police Department Bryan Spakowicz, City of Waukesha Police Department

Zach Stringer, Prosper Police Department William Swanson, Kenosha Fire Department

Ronald Thorton, St. Joseph County Meto SWAT Taylor Trimboli, Lane County Sheriff's Office Joseph VanGorder, Alachua County Sheriff's Office

Anthony Vazquez, Charleston Police Department Tim Wallace, Lane County Sheriff's Office Joel Walters, Brentwood Police Department Alexander Walts, Charleston Police Department *Wyatt Wardenburg, Cedar Rapids Police Department

Anthony Weakley, Brentwood Police Department BJ Wendling, Prosper Police Department Luke Wible, Randolph County Sheriff's Office Brian Wilson, Kenosha Police Department Matthew Wilson, Charleston Police Department Eric Wojnowski, El Cajon Police Department Don Yoak, Garland County Sheriff's Office **Seth Young**, Brentwood Police Department Curt Zabala, Prosper Police Department

*Top 10 scores